GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT

NOTICE 2315 OF 2024





NOTICE ON THE APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF THE SOUTH AFRICAN MARITIME SAFETY AUTHORITY (SAMSA)

The South African Maritime Safety Authority is a national public entity established in terms of the South African Maritime Authority Act, 1998 (Act. 5 of 1998). Its mandate is to ensure safety of life and property at sea, to prevent and combat pollution from ships and to promote South Africa's maritime interests.

The Authority has a Board, whose function is to ensure that the entity strives for the achievement of the objectives outlined in the Act and exercise authority and control over the financial position, operations and management of the entity.

- I, Sindisiwe Lydia Chinkunga the Minister of Transport has appointed the following persons below to the Board of SAMSA with effect from 01 September 2023
 - Mr Mahesh Fakir as the Chairperson, M. Tau Morwe as the Deputy Chairperson, Ms. Aurelia Nosipho Sobekwa, Ms. Natalie Skeepers, Ms. Nogolide Feziwe Nojozi, Mr Metse Raleohenya as DoT representative, and Mr Sinhle Nguse, for a period of three (3) years.

The members were appointed in terms of the South African Maritime Authority Act, 1998 (Act. No. 5 of 1998) as amended.

MS. SINDISIWE LYDIA CHIKUNGA, MP

MINISTER OF TRANSPORT DATE: 2023/12/18