General Notices • Algemene Kennisgewings

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT NOTICE 185 OF 2019

MAGISTRATES' COURTS ACT 1944 (ACT NO. 32 OF 1944): INTENTION TO CREATE MAGISTERIAL DISTRICTS, SUB-DISTRICTS AND ESTABLISH DISTRICT COURTS IN THE WESTERN CAPE PROVINCE AS PART OF THE RATIONALISATION OF COURTS PROCESS

The Minister of Justice and Correctional Services Adv. Tshililo Michael Masutha, (MP) intends, in terms of sections 2(1)(a),(f),(h),(j).(k) and (l) of the Magistrates' Courts Act, 1944 (Act No. 32 of 1944), read with section 6 of Schedule 6 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, to:

- (a) create, in respect of the areas mentioned in Column "A" of the attached Schedule, magisterial districts as reflected under Column "B" of the attached Schedule and declare that those magisterial districts be known by the names referred to in the said Column "B";
- (b) Specify, in respect of each magisterial district mentioned under Column "B" seats of the magistracy as reflected under Column "D"
- (c) detach portions of the magisterial districts under column "B" of the said Schedule to form areas of jurisdiction of detached courts for sub-districts as reflected under column "F" and declare that those sub-districts be known by the names referred to in the said column "F";
- (d) appoint, in respect of the sub-districts mentioned under Column "F" of the Schedule to the notice, places for holding of the detached courts as reflected under Column "G" to this notice;
- (e) establish, for the districts mentioned under Column "B" and sub-districts under Column "F", courts as reflected under Columns "C" and "G" of the Schedule for the purpose of-
 - the trial of persons accused of committing any offences which shall have jurisdiction contemplated in section 89 and 92 of the Magistrates' Court Act, 1944; and

- (ii) adjudication of civil disputes contemplated in section 29(1) of the Magistrates' Court Act, 1944.
- (f) appoint, within the districts mentioned under Column "B" and sub-districts mentioned under Column "F", places for the holding of a court as reflected under Columns "E and "H" of the Schedule; and
- (g) that the places for the holding of court mentioned under Columns "E" and "H" of the Schedule; shall exercise jurisdiction over the same area of jurisdiction of the proposed seats of the districts and sub-districts as correspondingly reflected under Columns "D" and "G" of the accompanying Schedule;
- (h) define, in respect of each magisterial district mentioned under Column "B" of the Schedule to the notice, local limits as reflected on the maps accessible via the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development website;
- (i) define in respect of each sub-district mentioned under Column "F" of the Schedule to this notice, local limits as reflected on the maps accessible via the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development website.

The maps which illustrate the proposed magisterial districts and sub-districts as reflected in Schedule may be accessed on the website of the Department at the following address: http://www.justice.gov.za/maps/maps.html

Comments regarding the proposed districts, sub-districts and appointment of places for the holding of a court may be submitted in writing on or before 15 April 2019 to the following address: The Director-General, Department of Justice and Constitutional Development, Private Bag X81, Pretoria, 0001 for the attention of Mr M Moagi; email: Makmoagi@justice.gov.za or Mr Knoop Victor; email: Vknoop@justice.gov.za.

SCHEDULE

AREAS		MAGIST	ERIAL DISTRICT			SUB-DISTI	RICT
COLUMN A	COLUMN B	COLUMN C	COLUMN D	COLUMN E	COLUMN F	COLUMN G	COLUMN H
AREAS	PROPOSED MAGISTERIAL DISTRICTS CREATED	PROPOSED COURTS TO BE ESTABLISHED	PROPOSED SEAT OF THE MAGISTRACY	PROPOSED PLACES FOR HOLDING OF COURTS	PROPOSED SUB- DISTRICTS/ DETACHED COURTS	PROPOSED SEAT OF THE SUB- DISTRICT (DETACHED COURT)	PROPOSED PLACE/S FOR HOLDING OF COURT
2	T 0 10 front 1		1				
Cape Winelands	Cape Winelands	Worcester	Worcester	De Doorns	Drakenstein	Paarl	Groot Drakenstein
				Rawsonville			Franschoek
				Touws River			Wellington
					Langeberg	Robertson	Ashton
							Bonnievale
					1		McGregor
							Montagu
					Stellenbosch	Stellenbosch	
					Witzenberg	Ceres	Tulbagh
							Wolseley
Central Karoo	Central Karoo	Beaufort West Laingsburg	Beaufort West	Merweville	Laingsburg	Laingsburg	-
		Prince Albert		Murraysburg	Prince Albert	Prince Albert	Leeu-Gamka

COLUMN E

COURTS

Athlone

Fezeka

Philippi

PROPOSED PLACES

Cape Town Norlen House

FOR HOLDING OF

MAGISTERIAL DISTRICT

COLUMN D

PROPOSED

Cape Town

Wynberg

SEAT OF THE

MAGISTRACY

COLUMN C

PROPOSED

Cape Town

Wynberg

COURTS TO BE

ESTABLISHED

AREAS

COLUMN B

PROPOSED

DISTRICTS

CREATED

Cape Town

Cape Town

South

Central

MAGISTERIAL

COLUMN A

City of Cape

Town

AREAS

SUB-DISTRICTS

COLUMNH

COURT

Parow

Bishop Lavis

Bluedowns

PROPOSED PLACE/S

FOR HOLDING OF

COLUMN G

PROPOSED

SEAT OF THE

SUB-DISTRICT

(DETACHED

COURT)

Atlantis

Bellville

Goodwood

Kuils River

Khayelitsha

Mitchells Plain

Cinana's Tarre

COLUMN F

PROPOSED

DISTRICTS/

DETACHED

COURTS

Atlantis

Bellville

Goodwood

Kuils River

Khayelitsha

Mitchells Plain

Cimonia Tourn

SUB-

				Philippi	Simon's Town	Simon's Town	Muizenberg
					Somerset West	Somerset West	-
					Strand	Strand	-
Eden Eden	Eden	George Hessequq Kannaland Knysna	George Hessequq Kannaland	Tembalethu	Tembalethu Hessequa Riversdale Uniondale	Riversdale	Albertinia
				Uniondale			Heidelberg
							Stil Bay
					Kannaland	Ladismith	Calitzdorp
					Knysna	Knysna	Plettenberg Bay
		1			Mossel Bay	Mossel Bay	Groot Brak River
					Oudtshoorn	Oudtshoorn	-

AREAS		MAGIST	ERIAL DISTRICT	į.		SUB-DISTRIC	CTS
COLUMN A	COLUMN B	COLUMN C	COLUMN D	COLUMN E	COLUMN F	COLUMN G	COLUMN H
AREAS	PROPOSED MAGISTERIAL DISTRICTS CREATED	PROPOSED COURTS TO BE ESTABLISHED	PROPOSED SEAT OF THE MAGISTRACY	PROPOSED PLACES FOR HOLDING OF COURTS	PROPOSED SUB- DISTRICTS/ DETACHED COURTS	PROPOSED SEAT OF THE SUB-DISTRICT (DETACHED COURT)	PROPOSED PLACE/S FOR HOLDING OF COURT
Overberg	Overberg	Cape Agulhas Overstrand Swellendam Theewaterskloof	Hermanus	-	Cape Agulhas	Bredasdorp	-
					Swellendam	Swellendam	Barryqdale
					Theewaterskloof	Caledon	Genadendal
							Grabouw
							Rieviersonderend
							Villiersdorp
							Villiersdorp
West Coast	West Coast	Bergrivier Cederberg	Vredendal	Lutzville	Bergrvier	Piketberg	Villiersdorp
West Coast	West Coast	Cederberg Matzikama Saldanha Bay	Vredendal	VanRhynsdorp	Bergrvier	Piketberg	
West Coast	West Coast	Cederberg Matzikama	Vredendal				Laaiplek Porterville
West Coast	West Coast	Cederberg Matzikama Saldanha Bay	Vredendal	VanRhynsdorp	Bergrvier	Piketberg Clanwilliam	Laaiplek
West Coast	West Coast	Cederberg Matzikama Saldanha Bay	Vredendal	VanRhynsdorp			Laaiplek Porterville
West Coast	West Coast	Cederberg Matzikama Saldanha Bay	Vredendal	VanRhynsdorp			Laaiplek Porterville Citrusdal
West Coast	West Coast	Cederberg Matzikama Saldanha Bay	Vredendal	VanRhynsdorp	Cederberg Saldanha Bay	Clanwilliam	Laaiplek Porterville Citrusdal Lamberts Bay
West Coast	West Coast	Cederberg Matzikama Saldanha Bay	Vredendal	VanRhynsdorp	Cederberg	Clanwilliam	Laaiplek Porterville Citrusdal Lamberts Bay Hopefield
West Coast	West Coast	Cederberg Matzikama Saldanha Bay	Vredendal	VanRhynsdorp	Cederberg Saldanha Bay	Clanwilliam Vredenburg	Laaiplek Porterville Citrusdal Lamberts Bay Hopefield Langebaan