## GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

## INDEPENDENT COMMUNICATIONS AUTHORITY OF SOUTH AFRICA NOTICE 1721 OF 2023



## NOTICE OF THE APPLICATIONS RECEIVED IN RESPECT OF THE INVITATION TO PRE-REGISTER FOR COMMUNITY TELEVISION BROADCASTING SERVICE AND RADIO FREQUENCY SPECTRUM LICENCES FOR MULTIPLEX 1 FREQUENCIES

- 1. The Independent Communications Authority of South Africa ("the Authority") hereby gives notice that it has received applications for pre-registration for community television broadcasting service and radio frequency spectrum licences in various provinces throughout the country.
- 2. The applications were submitted to the Authority pursuant to the Invitation to Preregister ("ITP-R") published on 30 June 2022<sup>1</sup>.
- 3. The Authority received thirty-seven (37) applications. Twenty (20) applications were admitted to Phase 1 of the ITP-R licensing process, whilst seventeen (17) applications were disqualified.
- 4. The details of the twenty (20) applications are contained in Schedule A below. Copies of the redacted versions of the qualified applications can be accessed on the Authority's website via the following link: <a href="https://www.icasa.org.za/pages/applications-to-pre-register-for-community-tv-broadcasting-service-licences">https://www.icasa.org.za/pages/applications-to-pre-register-for-community-tv-broadcasting-service-licences</a>.

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Government Gazette No. 46629 dated 30 June 2022.

- 5. Interested parties are invited to lodge written representations in relation to the applications in Schedule A within fourteen (14) working days from the date of publication of this Notice in the Government Gazette. Written representations received after fourteen (14) working days will not be considered by the Authority.
- 6. Interested parties who lodge representations must also indicate whether they wish to make oral submissions should the Authority decide to hold public hearings in respect of the applications.
- 7. All written representations, responses and other correspondence in terms of this Notice must be directed to Mr Pascalis Adams, Project Manager: DTT Community TV on MUX 1 Committee via email: <a href="mailto:itp-r-tv@icasa.org.za">itp-r-tv@icasa.org.za</a> OR via hand delivery at Block B, 350 Witch-Hazel Avenue, Eco Point Office Park, Eco Park, Centurion OR via registered post to Private Bag X10, Highveld Park, 0169.
- 8. Interested parties who lodge representations in terms of this Notice shall, at the time of lodgement, furnish proof to the satisfaction of the Authority that a copy of the representation has been delivered or sent by registered post or email to the Applicant's contact person(s) indicated in Schedule A below.
- 9. Applicants shall be entitled to respond in writing to the written representations made by interested parties in terms of paragraph 5 above, within twenty-eight (28) working days after the publication of this Notice in the Government Gazette. Written responses received after the aforementioned twenty-eight (28) working days will not be considered by the Authority.
- 10. The Applicant must, at the time of lodging such written responses, furnish proof to the Authority's satisfaction that it has delivered a copy of such response via registered mail or by email to the relevant person having made such written representation.
- 11. For enquiries, please contact Mr Pascalis Adams at (012) 568 4085 or <a href="maskanganyi@icasa.org.za">padams@icasa.org.za</a> and Mr Resemate Maswanganyi at (012) 568 3207 or <a href="maskanganyi@icasa.org.za">rmaswanganyi@icasa.org.za</a>.

12. For all media enquiries, please contact: Media@icasa.org.za.

**DR CHARLES LEWIS** 

**ACTING CHAIRPERSON** 

DATE: 2023/03/\_\_\_\_\_

## **SCHEDULE A**

No.	Registrant Name	Station/Trading Name	Province	Contact Person	Contact Details
1.	Islamic Resource Institute of South Africa	The Grow Channel	WC	Majota Kambule	Corner 5th & Ysuf Street, Heideveld, Welcome estate, Cape Town, 7764. Email address: joe@dbtstudios.com
2.	Indiondio Zulu Dancers, Cultural and Art Centre	Indlondlo Community TV	KZN	Msizeni Mngadi / Sabelo B Gumbi	8 Nagle Dam Road, Ophokweni, Kwamyavu, Cato Ridge, 3680. Email address: Indlondlozuludancers@gmail.com
3.	Kgosi TV	Kgosi TV	LP	Thitshere Maphoso	Email address: drthitshere@gmail.com
4.	Great North TV	Great North TV	LP	Vincent Manthata / Phuti Mothapo	56 New Stand A, Manthata, 0788. Email address: vincentmanthata18@gmail.com / matloup015@gmail.com
5.	Moletsi Community Media	Baobab TV	LP	Rahab Modjadji Maphepha	Corner Gilead Road and G3332 Road, Moletsi, Mabokrlrlr, Koloti, Polokwane. Email address: moletsifm@gmail.com
6.	Eastern Cape Community Television (ECCTV)	Eastern Cape Community Television (ECCTV)	EC	Noxolo Lovedalia Matakane	89 Plein Street, Sunnyside, Pretoria, 0001. Email Address: Noxolomtana13@gmail.com
7.	Omolemo Trust	Kingdom TV SA	NC	Patrick Mokwena / Lebogang Seabi	Cnr Stockdale Street & Du Toit Span Road, Kimberley Northern Cape 8301. Email Addresses: Patrick.mokwena@gmail.com / Lseabi77@gmail.com

Z
0
4
8
ũ
N

No.	Registrant Name	Station/Trading Name	Province	Contact Person	Contact Details
8.	Limpopo Satellite Television NPC	Limpopo TV	LP	Dr. Tawani Victor Phuma	Unit Number 1, Makhado, Louis Trichardt Limpopo. Email Address: phume@global.co.za
9.	TV Nortwest NPC	TV Northwest	NW	Ferdinand Mabalane	424 Jq Portion 2, Boekenhout, City of Life Estates Brits 0250. Email Address: Fmabalane@gmail.com
10.	KwaMashu Community Advancement Projects	Pink TV	KZN	Edwin Mhlongo / Thobile Ximba	B25 Giya Road, KwaMashu 4360. Email Addresses: KCAP@mweb.co.za / admin@kcap.co.za
11.	Radio Riverside Community Radio	Riverside TV	NC	Thabang Pusoyabone / Magret Basson	Riverside TV, 03 Robinson Street, Upington, 8801. Email address: manager@radioriverside.co.za / admin@radioriverside.co.za
12.	Mpumakapa TV NPC	Mpumakapa TV	EC	Loyiso Nkantsu / Tasneem Fredericks	Mpumakapa TV, 248 Walmer Boulevard, South End, Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, 6001. Email address: loyison@mpumakapa.tv / tasneem@fredericksinc.co.za

No.	Registrant Name	Station/Trading Name	Province	Contact Person	Contact Details
13.	Capital TV	Capital TV	MP	George Matlakala / Ernest Nkuna	Capital TV, Section B96, Senotlelo. Email address: info@capitaltvsa.co.za / matlakalat@gmail.com
14.	Mutsindo Community Trust	Energy TV	LP	Vhulahani Stanley Luvhengo	Energy TV, Mutsindo Community Media Trust, Unit 15, Biccard Park, 43 Biccard Street, Polokwane, 0700. Email address: chairman@mutsindocommunitytrust.co.za.
15.	1 Free State TV NPC	1 Free State TV	FS	PT Phitise	1 Free State TV NPC 95 Kellner Street, Westdene, Bloemfontein, Free State, 9301. Email address: 1freestate.tv@gmail.com / tvfreestate@gmail.com / pt.kr.mmc@gmail.com / bmthethwa@1freestatetv.co.za
16.	Nthobel Alcohol And Drug Abuse Refuge	MPTV	MP	Luzile Mbengwa / Siyamthanda Zulu	MPTV, P O Box, Shatale, 1282. Email address: siyamthandazulu@outlook.com / ntho.cerchab@gmail.com.
17.	Platinum North West TV	Platinum North West TV	NW	Isaac Tshabalala	Platinum TV North West NPC, 87 Hendrik Potgieter Road, Oudorp, Kleksdorp, 2149. Email address: mwtshabs@gmail.com / jramotse@gmail.com.

U.
7
<
=
<u>U</u>
2
Г
Т
≨
Z
,
S
≥
₹
4
스
V.
$\subset$
Ľ.
~

Z
. 4
833
Ñ

No.	Registrant Name	Station/Trading Name	Province	Contact Person	Contact Details
18.	YKZN TV	YKZN	KZN	Edwin Mncwango	YKZN TV, 60 Allan Paton Road, Berea, Durban, KwaZulu Natal, 4001. Email address: Edwin.Mncwango@gmail.com / edwin.1kzntv.co.za.
19.	Sollywood S.A NPC	Free State Television	FS	Zamabuntu Lennox Qambi / Buhlezulu Qambi	Free State Television, Welkom Lodge, 162 State Way Street, Bedelia, Welkom, Free State, 9459. Email address: Sollywoodsouthafrica@gmail.com.
20.	Little Buffalo City Metro Television	BCM TV	EC	Siviwe Mahlahla	BCM TV, 3248 Nu 12, Mdantsane, 5219. Email address: bcmtv07@gmail.com / svig07@gmail.com.