## GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

## **DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT**

NO. 922 03 SEPTEMBER 2018





## Publication of a list of members for comments on their eligibility to be appointed to the Civil Aviation Board.

The Civil Aviation Authority is a national public entity established in terms of the South African Civil Aviation Act, 2009 (Act No. 13 of 2009). Its mandate is to control and regulate civil aviation safety and security; oversee the implementation and compliance with the National Aviation Security program; oversee the functioning and development of the civil aviation industry; promote civil aviation safety and security; develop regulations that are required in terms of the Act; and monitor and ensure compliance with the Act and the international Aviation Conventions.

The Civil Aviation Act makes provision for appointment of the Board to provide, amongst others, the strategic direction and oversee the corporate governance of the Authority in order to attain the mandate.

The purpose of this notice is to request public comments on the eligibility of each of the following members for appointment to the Board of the Civil Aviation Authority-

 Mr Smunda Mokoena, Ms Tshitshi Phewa, Ms Lizeka Dlepu, Prof. Ntombizozuko Dyani-Mhango, Mr Surendra Sooklal, Mr Mongezi Gladstone India, Mr Ernest Khoza, Dr. Brian Charles Suckling, Ms Bulelwa Koyana and Mr Bafanabaningi Duma Nkosi

Comments on the above list must be forwarded to:

The Director-General, Department of Transport, Private Bag X 193, Pretoria, 0001, for the attention of Ms K Kgantsi: CorporateGovernance, E-mail: KgantsiK@dot.gov.za.

Closing date for comments is 1 October 2018.